- Advertisement -
HomeDenmarkDenmark doubles target for vaccine donations

Denmark doubles target for vaccine donations

Previously this year, Denmark committed to donate at least 3 million vaccines before the end of 2021 to increase global vaccine access. Denmark has already delivered vaccines to Bhutan, Ukraine, and Kenya, and deliveries through COVAX are well under way. 

Today, the Danish government is pleased to announce that Denmark will donate an additional 3 million doses to help curb the pandemic. With this new pledge, the government doubles the combined target for Danish vaccine donations to 6 million doses. 

With the new pledge, Denmark allocates 3 million doses to earmarked donations through COVAX with 2 million doses tentatively earmarked to a group of 12 countries in Africa* and 1 million doses tentatively earmarked to a group of 22 countries from the group of Small Island Developing States (SIDS)**. 

COVAX will distribute the vaccines among the earmarked countries based on COVAX’ needs assessment. It is therefore not guaranteed that all countries included in the two earmarkings will receive vaccines. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark and COVAX are in dialogue regarding implementation of the earmarked donations.
The Danish vaccine donations will be comprised of vaccines from AstraZeneca and Johnson & Johnson. The vaccines allocated to COVAX will be delivered directly from the manufacturer. The timeframe for delivery is dependent on the production schedule and is currently unknown.

For further information on Danish vaccine donations, contact the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark: pressevagten@um.dk

* Burkina Faso, South Africa, Ghana, Nigeria, Uganda, Kenya, Ethiopia, Somalia, Mali, Tanzania, Niger, and Tunisia.

**Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Cabo Verde, Comoros, Kiribati, Federated States of Micronesia, Papua New Guinea, Sao Tomé and Principe, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Vanuatu, Dominica, Fiji, Grenada, Guyana, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Samoa, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tonga and Tuvalu.


Stay Connected
Must Read
Related News