HomeSwedenEU and the Eastern Partnership to further deepen cooperationy

EU and the Eastern Partnership to further deepen cooperationy

The Eastern Partnership was initiated by Sweden and Poland in 2009 with the aim of deepening relations between the EU and six countries in eastern Europe and the southern Caucasus. Heads of state and government of partner countries Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine will take part in the summit together with the leaders of the EU Member States.

The aim of the Eastern Partnership is to promote democracy, prosperity, peaceful and resilient societies, and responsible institutions that have citizens’ confidence. The Partnership also has a special role to play in times of security policy challenges in the region and is thus a strategically important community. It is also an arena for deepened cooperation, trade agreements and visa exemptions for Georgia, Ukraine and Moldova.

Heads of state and government of the EU Member States and Eastern Partnership countries are expected to back the Partnership’s priorities for the coming five years. These include socio-economic investments to address the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic and support for democratic reforms.

For the Swedish Government, it is essential to continue to strengthen the partner countries’ resilience, contribute to a green transition and support digital development. The Government attaches importance to reforms that strengthen democratic principles, human rights, the rule of law, good governance and gender equality.

Belarus has decided to suspend its participation in the Partnership, but the EU maintains its support for civil society in Belarus, and its support for free and fair elections there.


Stay Connected
Must Read
Related News