HomeCanadaBackgrounder: Sanctions against individuals affiliated with Hamas

Backgrounder: Sanctions against individuals affiliated with Hamas

The specific prohibitions are set out in the regulations.

Canadian measures

The Special Economic Measures Regulations impose a prohibition on dealings related to the listed individuals and entities, effectively freezing any assets they may have in Canada. Persons in Canada and Canadians outside of the country are prohibited from dealing with the listed individuals, and the listed individuals are also rendered inadmissible to Canada under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. Effective immediately, Canada is imposing sanctions against 11 individuals in response to the attack by Hamas in Israel that began on October 7, 2023, and the threat that Hamas and its affiliates pose to regional security. The names of the individuals added to the schedule of these regulations are the following:

  1.  Yahya Sinwar, leader (Hamas)
  2.  Muhammed Deif, military leader (Hamas)
  3. Marwan Issa, deputy military commander (Hamas)
  4. Maher Rebhi Namer Obeid, leader (Hamas)
  5. Jihad Muhammad Shaker Yaghmour, member (Hamas)
  6. Nizar Mohammed Awadallah, member (Hamas)
  7. Mahmoud al-Zahar, leader (Hamas)
  8. Hassan al-Wardian, member (Hamas)
  9. Ayman Nofal, military commander (Hamas)
  10.  Akram al-Ajouri, military leader (Palestinian Islamic Jihad)
  11. Aiman Ahmad al-Duwaik, member (Hamas)


Stay Connected
Must Read
Related News